Recent conferences and talks

It’s been a really long time, almost 7 months, since I have posted any updates on lab website. So let me post some of the conference and talks that our lab members have been involved with.

In March 2016,  a bunch of us that mostly included younger generation of ecologists, launched a new conference called India – Behaviour, Ecology and Evolution, in short I-BEE at Ramnagar, Uttarakhand, near the Corbett National Park. Three of us from the lab, me and two my of PhD students, Sumithra Sankaran and Jaideep Joshi, presented our work there. One key feature of the conference was that all talks were contributed talks which were peer-reviewed before acceptance. The conference was attended by around 100 people and was very well received.

A few folks from NCBS and ICTS have started a seminar series called Dynamics Fridays, that happens once on four weeks and rotates between NCBS and ICTS. I gave one of these dynamic talks in May 2016 on a very preliminary work on building models based on dynamics of fish school from real experiments.

In May 2016, I gave an invited talk at a national conference on Advances in Mathematical & Computational Biology held at IIT-Ropar. The event was only for two and a half days and was small. It had a great mix of physicists and mathematicians working on biological problems. I really enjoyed this small event.

In June 2016, I gave an invited talk at an International conference organised by ICTS, Bengaluru on Games, Epidemics and Behaviour. The conference had an interesting mix of applied mathematicians and computer scientists. I was one of the few ‘biologists’ among speakers. It was interesting to see applied mathematician’s way of approaching contact process based models, which we extensively use in our lab.

In Aug/Sept, I gave an invited talk at a symposium on “Spatiotemporal patterns as early warnings of possible catastrophic shifts in stressed ecological systems at the conference EcoSummit held at Montpellier, France.The symposium had a bunch of folks whose papers I had read from my student days, but had never met! It was fantastic. In the same conference, my student Sumithra Sankaran gave a talk on how to detect criticality in patchy ecological systems whereas my other PhD student Sabiha Majumder presented a poster on estimating criticality from real spatial ecological data.

Following this conference, my collaborator at CNRS Montpellier had organised a one day workshop on “Early Warning Signs of ecosystem degradation: Theory and applications on ecological data”. I gave the introductory talk on the “Theory of tipping points and their indicators”.

That seems quite a bit for an year where I had put breaks on travelling! I am not attending any conferences for the rest of this year. I expect these numbers to be even smaller for 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

