Sravya completes her B.Tech project on modelling Salmonella Typhimurium pathogenesis

Sravya Karur, a B. Tech student with specialization in Bioinformatics from Sastra University in Tamil Nadu, worked in our lab for her final year project for about five months, from Dec 2012 to April 2013.

She worked on the “Role of biofilm formation in the pathenogenesis of Salmonella Typhimurium in the gut”. I think she found some interesting results in her project, in particular how spatial structure can favour the evolution of suicidal behaviour in salmonella pathogens in the gut. We still need to work on it more to see if results are robust.

Of course, I knew almost nothing about Salmonella; I still know very little, and whatever I know is because of what Sravya taught me during the course of her project. The main reason for me to get into this project is Dr. Srinadnan Chakravarthy, who is a postdoc with Prof. Dipshikha Chakravorty of MCBL, IISc. He has been talking to me about modelling his empirical work on Salmonella for more than an year, and we finally got an opportunity when Sravya wrote to us requesting for a project. I hope that I will be able to continue to work on this very interesting project.

Back to Sravya, it was great having you in the lab for five months and thanks for teaching me about pathogens! Wish you all the best for your future.

Leave a Reply

